What I have been up to

by marthrhiannon

I started working at Aardman on the Tate Movie Project mid November, but before that started, I was also able to attend the book illustration course at Chelsea College of Art and Design- funded by Skillset Media Academy Wales. The teacher was amazing and I learnt so much. Whilst there I tried my hand at illustrating a Yeats poem called Lake Isle of Innisfree. Here are some of the spreads(I’m still working on the best way to integrate the text…)

Here’s the poem if anyone’s interested(I think it’s lovely and a little haunting):

I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree

And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made;

Nine bean rows will I have there, a hive for the honey bee,

And live alone in the bee-loud glade.

 

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,

Dropping from the veils of morning to where the cricket sings;

There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,

And evening full of linnet’s wings.

 

I will arise and go now, for always night and day

I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;

While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements gray,

I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

 

Oh and if you want to learn more about the amazing Tate Movie Project:

http://www.tate.org.uk/about/pressoffice/pressreleases/2010/22869.htm

