NEW YEAR old blog NEW WORK

by marthrhiannon

Hello poor neglected blog, I’m back and I have been busy.

I have had some new christmas cards in the Watershed. I was also artist of the month in Hamilton House’s December Programme and this little Rabbit Girl got her time to shine on the cover(she’s very happy):

Martha Ford_Rabbit girl

December 1st- My first craft market since I was a child. This time, instead of helping my grandparents sell their wooden bowls and little cabinets, I was selling my own cards, lockets, prints and hand-painted tree decorations. How grown-up 😉

DSC_0337

The event was the Magpies & I Vintage and Handmade Market at the Spiegeltent on the Harbourside in Bristol. It was beautiful and space issues aside, was the perfect first venue for me to test the waters. I will openly admit to being a bit of a pessimist sometimes so although I was excited, I also thought: I wouldn’t sell a thing, there wouldn’t be room for me, my table would collapse, the other sellers would shun me, someone would steal my float whilst I was distracted by something shiny, that sort of thing.

DSC_0330 copy

My table did wobble every time someone walked past and my stall did create a bit of a bottleneck (whenever two buggies turned up, it turned into a tiny double parked road with a car coming from either end). And I did have a few people walk by less than impressed, my favourite was a little older lady who, when her daughter pointed and said “Oh these are lovely, what do you think?”, said with a great dismissive wave across my stall, “I don’t like ANY of them”.  Can’t win ’em all eh? But generally, my artwork and products went down brilliantly (toot toot own horn)- lockets, decorations and cards were the most popular but a fair few prints sold too.

DSC_0346 copy

Saw many friends and friendly acquaintances and most of my family turned up to help. I absolutely loved it and if I wasn’t working in Forbidden Planet at the weekends, I would probably become a market junkie. Also, hot spiced apple juice and caramel crumble cakes are delicious.

390333_551749264838540_1326451951_n

Since then, I have been a guest in the vol.3 and 4 of Paper Scissors Stone and then was asked to come back for the Volume 5 over Christmas which was AMAZING. Really enjoyed meeting some new people and equally, working with some familiar faces. I had a few new designs in the shop and sold most of my stock which was, as you can imagine, VERY nice and will hopefully alleviate some of my post-christmas financial woes!

374410_551745988172201_402661231_n

It also led on to a lovely opportunity. I am now selling my products in a co-operative shop above BS8 on Park Street in Bristol with 6 other talented people. I think I might do a little post about Upstairs at BS8 and my colleagues once I have settled in a little more. http://www.upstairsatbs8.co.uk/

NEW YEAR old blog NEW WORK

Maybe not as interesting for some of you but I have also spent a good amount of my time volunteering in a college and a secondary school back in Swindon. The ESOL department of New College and the Art Department of Isambard Community School both took me in and let me help with a bunch of projects and classes. Absolutely loved it. The ESOL classes were lively and chaotic, with teenagers from all over the world coming together and showing that despite cultural differences, teens are always going to be teens:) I feel old.

